About Us

Sculpture Outside ‘The Bull and Beggar’ and Wedge Studios – Asheville North Carolina


The Cultural Geography Specialty Group (CGSG) seeks to promote and encourage scholarly research and superior teaching in the field of Cultural Geography through the exchange of current thought, trends, and information focusing on all areas of the field. The CGSG shall encourage, facilitate and sponsor the organization of paper sessions and discussion panels at national and regional meetings of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) as well as other seminars, symposiums, and conferences at which themes relating to Cultural Geography are discussed. The CGSG will also reward junior scholars by hosting paper competitions and awarding research grants. The CGSG will stimulate dialog and represent members in all matters related to membership in the national association (AAG).

Current Executive Board

Emma Walcott-Wilson
The University of Central Oklahoma
Ola Johansson
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
Nominations Director 
Mark Rhodes
Michigan Technological University
Awards Director 
Christabel Devadoss
Middle Tennessee State University
Program Director 
Josh Merced
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Past CGSG Chair 
Matt Cook
Eastern Michigan University
Graduate Student Representative 
Katrina Stack
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Graduate Student Representative 
Adam Regula
Kent State University

Cultural Geography Specialty Group Bylaws

Updated 2019